MCA Papers : NIMCET 2008 MCA entrance exam

NIMCET is a very popular MCA entrance exam in India conducted by the National Institutes of Technology. The ten participating ten National Institutes of Technology or NITs, as they are popularly known, are premier institutes in the field of technology education in India. Admission to MCA programme of the NITs, spread over various parts of the country, is based on the performance of the candidates in the NIMCET. Aspiring candidates need not apply separately to the participating NITs.
Exam Pattern: NIMCET 2008 will be of two hours duration having 120 multiple-choice questions. While correctly answered questions will carry four marks, the wrong answers will invite one negative mark.

Test Centers of NIMCET 2008: NIMCET 2008 will be held at NIT Agartala, MNIT Allahabad, MANIT Bhopal, NIT Calicut, NIT Durgapur, NIT Hamirpur, NIT Jaipur, NIT Jalandhar, NIT Jamshedpur, NIT Kurukshetra, VNIT Nagpur, NIT Patna, NIT Raipur, NIT Rourkela, NIT Silchar, NIT Srinagar, NIT Surat, NIT Surathkal, NIT Tiruchirapalli and NIT Warangal.

General Eligibility for NIMCET 2008: For admission to the MCA programs of the NITs, candidates should be Indian Nationals having minimum 60% (55% marks or 6.10/10 CGPA for SC/ST candidates) aggregate marks (6.5/10 CGPA) at the 12th level and at the Bachelor’s Degree of Full Time of minimum 3 years duration from a recognized University with Mathematics/ Statistics/ Business Mathematics as one of the subjects in any one semester/year at both 12th level and graduation level.

The candidates who are appearing for the qualifying examination are also eligible to appear for NIMCET-2008, but they need to furnish the proof of fulfilling the eligibility criteria of NIMCET-08 preferably at the time of Counseling/Admission but not later than 31st July, 2008.

Apart from these general eligibility criteria, candidates may have to fulfill some particular criteria of the participating NITs.

List of Participating NITs and Seats:

Allahabad- 60, Bhopal- 60, Calicut-30, Durgapur-60, Jamshedpur- 30, Kurukshetra- 60, Raipur-60, Srathkal-60, Tiruchirapalli- 60, Warrangal- 30.

Total Seats: 510.

Address :

Prof. A. Kandasamy, Secretary, Technical Committee,
Department of MACS,
NITK, Surathkal,
Mangalore, PIN-575025.
e-mail: OR
Telephone: 0824-2474000 ext 3048
TeleFax: 0824-2474048

Comments are closed.